Baby Hats

Standard

It can be difficult to buy clothing for someone else. But it’s even more difficult to make clothing for someone else. I have enough trouble getting the things I make for myself to fit me (which is why I like to stick to scarves) let alone to fit someone else. And if they do fit in size, they may not fit in color or style.

The person I made these hats for, though, won’t be able to share his opinion for a few more years. He’ll probably never even really see what he looks like wearing them. He’s the baby of my good friends, Elizabeth and Jack, and he just turned 4 months old a few days ago. I get to meet him in about two weeks. I made two so he can have his pick in case he doesn’t like one of them.

I do know babies can be picky though. Other babies I’ve made hats for have tugged and pulled at them to get them off. I made these out of soft, non-itchy wool. The light blue one is made from baby alpaca yarn (the same wool as my owl sweater) and is very soft. Unfortunately for Elizabeth, this means neither hat is machine washable, but I don’t think hats get too dirty. It’s not like I made him a hand-wash only bib.

 

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

