Airplane Knitting

Standard

How much knitting can one finish en route from Chicago O’Hare to Newark, Newark to Port-au-Prince, Port-au-Prince to Newark, and Newark to Chicago?

This much:

I only knit during the flights, and not really during take off or landing. Knitters will recognize this pattern as the clapotis. It’s sort of required knitting, as there are 18,784 of them on ravelry. This is my third. It’s a great pattern because it is easy to memorize, uses basic, mindless stitches, and yields a gorgeous, versatile result. It can be dressy or casual. It’s warm, but also folds to fit in a purse.

I’m finally using the Blue Heron Rayon Metallic yarn I bought specifically for a clapotis after my friend made two of them with the same yarn. I found it at Arcadia Knitting’s going out of business sale back in July 2010.

Looking at the amount I finished, I’m a little disappointed at the amount that I got done. It seems as though I should have finished more in that time. I think from now on it will go a little faster, but like everything, knitting is about the journey as much as the destination.

16 responses »

  1. Lovely work and nice color choice! I realized I haven’t yet knit one, maybe on my next flight? More likely roadtrip. I know what you mean about realizing how long knitting can take; but at least all those traveling hours resulted in something so pretty, tangible, even useful. I really love that feeling.
    Glad to see you back!

  2. I love this pattern. I remember feeling slightly panicked when I dropped the first stitch but after that it was lots of fun. Looks great!

  3. “…but like everything, knitting is about the journey as much as the destination.” So true! And a really lovely piece-in-process. :}

    ~elisabeth

Leave a Reply

