New Year’s Resolutions

Standard

2011 was an eventful year for me. I got married. I traveled to Florida, Ohio (twice) Puerto Rico (including Vieques and Culebra), Haiti, Las Vegas, Milwaukee (at least twice), and will go to Haiti again with 24 hours in NYC before the year is over. I knit about a hundred flowers for my wedding, a sweater, another sweater that is almost finished (will be before the end of the year), two shawls, two hats, two scarves, two swiffer cloths, and I’m in the middle of some mittens. I also finished getting my endorsements on my teaching certificate in science, art, and English as a second language.

I realize it is not yet Christmas, but I’ve already begun thinking about New Year’s Resolutions. I have never actually made them before. I think any time is a good time for self-reflection and making positive changes, but I feel drawn to listing some things that I would like to focus on in 2012. It’s really important to me to make clear measurable goals. For example, do more yoga is a goal I wouldn’t follow, but practice yoga for an hour a week is something I might. I need to make clear expectations for myself so I can document my own progress. I also want to challenge myself, but be realistic. So here goes:

1. My teaching memoir is currently 2944 words. By the end of 2012, it should have 10,000 or more.

2. Draft at least one of the children’s book ideas that I have, by the end of 2012.

3. I currently have 73 balls of yarn in my stash, not including partial skeins. By the end of 2012, I should have no more than 70. (Meaning, I know I’ll buy more, but I can’t buy them at a higher rate than I am knitting through them).

4. Leave the country at least one time in 2012.

5. Write 45 or more blog posts in 2012.

6. Get a car in 2012. I sold mine 11 years ago when I moved to Chicago and haven’t had one since. I’m ready to get one again for road trips, but not for every day driving to work use.

What do you think? What are some of your goals?

2 responses »

  1. Wonderful goals here! Still fine-tuning my own list but hope to start an Etsy business, start getting stronger and more fit, and swim in at least one ocean, if not more this year. Bring on 2012!

Leave a Reply

