Yuba Delight

Standard

It was my intent to have a Japanese inspired vegan feast.

But not everything I assembled ended up making it into the dinner. The dried rice cakes will have to wait until next time. The bubble tea I planned to make turned into serving fresh blueberries, and apparently you don’t prepare tapioca pearls by boiling them unless you intend to make a gummy shapeless mess. I also didn’t use the rice vinegar.

So I’ll start with the star of the show- Yuba Rolls! Here are instructions you can use to make them yourself, but I can’t help you if you can’t find the yuba.

First, cut the carrots and shred the shittakes, then fry them together until only partly softened.

Then fry green beans for just a few minutes. Lay out a yuba sheet. If they stick together or are hard, rinse them under water, then pat them dry. Mix some maple syrup with soy sauce and water. Brush a little of this onto the yuba. Put the green beans and carrots next to each other and roll it up.

Do the same thing, but put the first rolled up yuba roll inside this second roll! Then do that again, with this second larger roll going into the third roll! Then, roll the third roll into the fourth along with the green beans and carrots every time.

There were 8 sheets in my yuba pack, so I used 4 sheets for each final roll.

Then fry them for about 5 minutes per side like a grilled burrito. After that, put a little water in the pan and cover it to steam them. Keep that up until the water is gone.

Serve on a fancy plate with a basil leaf.

While I was preparing these, I also made a stir fry by combining finely chopped sweet onion with quartered green Thai eggplant (the little round ones). Add some hot chili oil. I fried it for a few minutes then covered it and forgot about it while working on the yuba rolls. Once it was almost done, I added tofu. My plan was to add the, what I thought at the store was bok choy, but was actually mustard greens.

I cooked the mustard greens separately in a cast iron in order to cook them down enough to fit with the eggplant/tofu. It didn’t seem like it would fit, so I added hoison sauce and tamarind paste to it.

I added basil to the tofu/eggplant.

I served it all on fancy plates with a side of blueberries.

It all turned out better than expected, and that’s even with the colds my husband and I have that makes it difficult for us to taste much.

The yuba wasn’t salty at all! It barely had any flavor, but it was really easy to work with. Much easier than spring roll wrappers, and about as easy as a large flour tortilla. I would definitely make yuba rolls again!

4 responses »

  1. Your yuba delight looks delicious! I love creating with yuba skin too, there’s so much versatility in. I experienced it for the first time at an vegan Asian restaurant in Rockville, MD (name escapes me right now) and fell in love with the texture and flavor. Since then I have prepared many interesting dishes with it. I soon learned that it takes on the flavor of whatever seasoning or marinade you choose, otherwise it’s pretty tasteless, like it’s cousin, tofu (bean curd).

  2. Pingback: Yuba sheets | Trelittle

Leave a Reply

